Sunday, August 24, 2008

IGB-5th Dato' Arthur Tan Malaysia Open Chess Championship 2008 (17th Aug to 24th Aug 2008) - Final Day

(Prize winners' list) ^

GM Li Chao b emerged Champion for the second time in a row. The Championship started off with players from Uzbekistan and Indonesia slugging it out with GM Zhang Zong of Singapore (formerly a PRChina national) keeping the pace. He suffered a setback at Round 6 in the hand of GM Susanto Megaranto and earlier on a draw with China's GM Li Shilong but never looked back since, needing just a draw in the last round to clinch the title.

GM Zhang Zong took second place, followed by GM Dzumaev Marat, GM Susanto Megaranto in fourth place and GM Laylo Darwin in fifth. The rest of the results are as shown below

A few milestone were achieved in this Championship. Malaysia's FM Lim Yee Weng should qualify for his IM title when he broke through the 2400 rating threshold. He earlier took the Royal Selangor Open 2008 title last May.

WIM Irene Kharisma Sukandar of Indonesia too performed well. That should earn her the second norm in her bid to secure the WGM title.

IM Mas Hafizulhelmi could only about maintained his level of performance. There were missed opportunities and maybe even blunders along the way but that should be lessons learned to progress further.

The final ranking of the Championship and FIDE rating statistics are as follows